• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Theme Thursdays [Beauty Related] – 07Apr11

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

The randomly selected theme for this week is suggested by Rachel from Endless Reading.


glitter-graphics.com


And this week’s theme is ……..

BEAUTY RELATED

(like hair, makeup, lipstick etc)


My THURSDAY THEME for Beauty Related


In fact, my parents had even dressed the part of hippies. My mom usually wore her hair in a long, graying braid, and she favored baggy jeans, or sometimes ankle-length dresses. My father, almost always in a beat-up leather hat and faded work clothes, had sported a heavy commune-style beard.

Taken from “Toys” by “James Patterson & Neil McMahon”

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Also don’t forget to leave your theme suggestions as well. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

19 Responses

  1. I, too, found a hair-related selection for Theme Thursday this week: Marla @ Starting the Next Chapter – Theme Thursday post
    My theme suggestion for next week is “weather.”

  2. Yay! I never get picked for anything. Then I had a hard time with my own theme. Go figure!!

    My theme post is HERE

  3. This was a tough one for me as I’m reading about mountain folk that know a whole lot more about how to poison a horse than applying makeup! Take a look:

    http://bookbelle0819.blogspot.com/2011/04/theme-thursday.html

    Belle

  4. I haven’t participated in a while so I decided to join in on the fun once more. Here is my Theme:

    http://mybookaddiction.blogspot.com/2011/04/theme-thursday-4.html

  5. Great topic! I used hair too. My post is here.

  6. This is a hard one for the book I’m reading. But here we go: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/04/theme-thursday-beauty.html

  7. This is my very first Themed Thursday, very happy to be on board!

    http://www.thewritetomakealiving.com/2011/04/themed-thursday-1.html

  8. Wish I’d been reading chick lit this week! Found one in the end though:

    http://sophiasbookblog.blogspot.com/2011/04/theme-thursday-beauty.html

  9. Ooo, I like yours! And I love the new layout 🙂

    I picked a section from Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough.

Leave a comment