• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Theme Thursdays [MALE PERSON] – 23Jun11

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is

MALE PERSON (Father, Grandfather, Brother etc)

Since we just celebrated Father’s day I thought it would only be fair to mention the remarkable men who are or have been a part of our life. My THURSDAY THEME for MALE is here.

And he would grin from ear to ear with each step, feeling so proud, knowing that giving her away would be the bittersweet crowning achievement of being her father.
“Hey Dad,” Emily said glancing toward Jeff as he walked through the door.
“I’m home,” Jeff said.
Taken from “The End Is Now” by “Rob Stennett”

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

24 Responses

  1. Nice theme even if it isn’t Father’s Day here until September. Mine is here

    http://cat-bookmagic.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday-male-person.html

  2. I didn’t know Father’s Day was on different days different places?!?

    http://confuzzledbooks.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday-male-person-brad-verita.html

  3. Can’t find a snippet with father/grandfather/brother word in it. Got to settle with this one:

    http://www.playinglibrarian.com/2011/06/theme-thursday-8-male-person.html

  4. Good one! Mine is here

  5. My father proved a wedding of his daughter was a “bittersweet” experience.

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday_23.html

  6. Oh, I like that excerpt…it really gives me a good feeling about that relationship.

    Here’s mine:

    THURSDAY MEMES: BOOKING & THEME THURSDAY — JUNE 23

  7. Great theme! My extract comes from a book my father recommended to me.

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday_23.html

  8. It must be a bittersweet moment for a father to give away his daughter. Good selection.

    Here’s mine: Thursday on My Bookshef

  9. It isn’t father’s day for me either but here is my snippet:
    http://laurenstvtotebookbag.blogspot.com/2011/06/thursday-theme-3.html

  10. Aww, your teaser got me teary 🙂 Mine is about a father as well:

    Theme Thursdays [Antonyms] – 6Oct11

  11. +JMJ+

    That’s a great excerpt for the week of Fathers Day! =)

    I’m late to this one and had to backdate my post, but I hope that’s all right. I had a great “male person” in my current read–even if there’s nothing very fatherly about him! =P

Leave a comment