• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Theme Thursdays [July 4th] – 30Jun11

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is

JULY 4th (Celebrations, Independence, Freedom, Flag, Fireworks etc)

For this week you need to choose a snippet that best relates to July 4th. It could be anything that strikes you, but make sure you explain why you chose that particular snippet.

I read nearly 50 pages and almost gave up. I wanted something to symbolize celebrations but since I found nothing I decided to settle for another familiar scene that best describes living in America. My THURSDAY THEME for July 4th is here.

They were booked for one of the busiest and most popular departure times in Europe, and JFK’s International Terminal was swarming with passengers and those seeing them off. Which was why Gianni had chosen this flight time to begin with. The more crowd confusion, the better.

Taken from page 146 “Deceptions” by “Michael Weaver”

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

21 Responses

  1. okay, i was pretty confused, glad for the explanation. let me see, i’m not sure if i’ll be able to pull this one off, but i may try. have a wonderful fourth of July yourself.

    • I sure hope you will find something. I know this week’s theme is confusing and as is obvious I struggled with it too ๐Ÿ™‚ But some ladies out here managed to find some awesome snippets and interpretations. Am sure you will too..

  2. My current read is about communist China, so it was a little difficult to link it to the 4th of July. I decided to look for a passage about supposed freedom at the time: http://abigailannreading.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday-july-4th.html

  3. I wasn’t sure I’d find this one, but since my current read takes place in the summer, it wasn’t hard at all. Here’s my answer: http://socratesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday-july-4th.html

  4. Okay, I went with a definition of freedom (but I may be off track a little). Here’s mine:

    http://bookbelle0819.blogspot.com/2011/06/this-weeks-theme-is-j-u-l-y-4th.html

    I have to pay bills. I’ll come back to hop after work! Happy 4th to everyone! I love America.

  5. I thought this was going to be a hard one, but just recently I picked up a book cheap at Goodwill that I new would have something to do with fireworks, since the title is Fireworks over Toccoa!

    Here is my theme Thursday:
    http://www.booksandbarks.com/2011/06/theme-thursday_30.html

  6. None of my current reads have anything about July 4th, and they’re actually pretty depressing…so I’m going to pass this week!

  7. I failed miserably I’m sorry and had to settle on celebrations in general!

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday_30.html

  8. I have no idea where to even start so I think I’m gonna skip this one. If I come across something suitable I’ll post it later.

  9. Tough one today. I was grateful my book’s characters are fond of fireworks.

    My theme post is HERE

  10. I couldn’t find anything about July 4th, so I went with a passage that immediately reminds me of America:
    http://tantoslivrostaopoucotempo.blogspot.com/2011/06/theme-thursday-4-de-julho.html

  11. I had a bad travel dream last night — I’m glad I’m not traveling today!

    Here’s mine:
    http://situationswhereyoumayneedit.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday-july-4th-midnight-tunnel.html

  12. Found a perfect one in the book I started reading yesterday!

    http://shellabelle-reads.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday-11.html

    Happy Fourth!

Leave a Reply

