Theme Thursdays [Antonyms] – 6Oct11

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

We are going to do something different the next few weeks and hence I am publishing all the themes for this month.

This week’s theme is

ANTONYMS (Pick 2 snippets that have an opposite i.e. if one sentence has OPEN the other should have CLOSE)

My THURSDAY THEME for ANTONYMS is here. Pick the word, search for its opposite in google/thesaurus (as needed) and then look for a snippet with the opposite. Lot of work!!

It was hot, way too hot for early May. Too damn hot for this, that’s for sure.

Joe glanced at Matt, who lay flattened in a lawn chair off to the side of the deck, a cold rag over his head.

Taken from “The Choice” By Nicholas Sparks

Themes for the month of October:

13th Oct 2011 – SYNONYMS (Pick 2 snippets that have a synonym i.e. if one sentence has KID the other should have CHILD or BABY or INFANT etc.)

20th Oct 2011 – RHYMES (Pick 2 snippets that have rhyming words i.e if one sentence has RAIN the other should have CHAIN or VAIN or SPAIN etc.)

27th Oct 2011 – ENDING WORDS (Pick 2 snippets that have matching last 2 words i.e if one sentence has WIFE the other should have LIFE or KNIFE etc)

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

11 Responses

  1. Loved this theme – a bit more work required but good fun and it wasn’t as hard as I thought it might be.

  2. I love the monthly setup – I can jot down super snippets as I read. hahaha. And I have to go back and fix mine because in reviewing I got it wrong, (1 sentence that had both words used) – it’s 4 in the morning. See I need the extra time. πŸ˜‰ I love the themes you picked for this month. It is challenging and educational.
    http://www.alaskanbookcafe.com

  3. Great theme – Sparks is great! Great idea’s for the month of October! πŸ™‚

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-theme-thursday.html

  4. I found my snippets in the first few pages…a little challenging, but that’s good! Yours are great.

    Here’s MY THEME THURSDAY POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. I like the monthly setup too! This way I can even get my posts done the night before – if I don’t procrastinate like I usually do lol!

    Great choices for this week as well πŸ˜€

    http://www.booksandbarks.com/2011/10/theme-thursday.html

  6. Great choice this week! πŸ™‚

  7. My antonyms are in the same sentence…. it was the best I could do…

    http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2011/10/theme-thursdays-antonyms.html

  8. Wilkie Collins made it a bit difficult this week. But I think mine works…

Leave a Reply

