• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Theme Thursdays [Smell] – 23Feb12

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is related to the nose – any action that you do with your nose. I can only think of SMELL and BREATHE for now, but go ahead and come up with something more innovative.

SMELL Breathe, Anything else you can come up with the nose’s functions

My THURSDAY THEME for SMELL is here.

“I swear I smell a wet dog.”

Taken from “Skinny Dip” By Carl Hiaasen

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

8 Responses

  1. Ugh, I thoroughly dislike that smell! 🙂

  2. I couldn’t find anything with smells, which surprised me, since the book I chose had lots of descriptions of food in restaurants…but not the smell!

    But I found something about breathing:

    THURSDAY SPARKS: THEMES & BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY — FEB. 23

  3. Wasn’t too hard to find this one for me this week. Lol, not like some of the past ones. 🙂

    Here’s my snippet: http://angiesangelsrkids-furkids.blogspot.com/2012/02/theme-thursdays-feb-23rd.html

  4. I’m afraid my smell isn’t particularly pleasant…. (I couldn’t find an example of the action of smelling or breathing or sniffing or anything, so I had to go with actual smells.)

Leave a comment