• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Theme Thursdays [Furniture] – 03Mar11

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

The winner for last week’s meme participants is

Suzannah Burke from Soooz Says Stuff

You will receive a copy of “The Wedding” by Nicholas Sparks.

PhotoPox.com - Images For Your Page!

This week’s theme is – FURNITURE

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


My THURSDAY THEME for FURNITURE

She’d had a dining room table made of cherry, and sheer curtains in the windows, but here the table wobbled and the chairs didn’t match, the windows were bare, and she and Jo would have to drink wine from coffee mugs.

Taken from “Safe Haven” by “Nicholas Sparks”


kavyen

37 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to see what you think of this book!

  2. Got my post all ready for tomorrow morning!

  3. Great theme and your sentence is perfect for it.

    Mine is here
    http://cat-bookmagic.blogspot.com/2011/03/theme-thursday-furniture.html

  4. Found this theme quite hard, but eventually managed to find a relevant passage.
    Here it is:
    http://abigailannreading.blogspot.com/2011/03/theme-thursdays-2.html

  5. It’s funny.. the book that I’m reading mentioned something about someone drinking wine out of coffee mugs too!!
    But for this week’s participation, I chose a sentence about “a drawer”.

    http://www.playinglibrarian.com/2011/03/theme-thursday-1furniture.html

  6. Congrats Suzannah!

    I won’t be participating this week due to illness.

    Freda @ Freda’s Voice

  7. Hi!
    This is my first time joining Theme Thursday. Mine is posted at my place, Just Books. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  8. Hi!
    This is my first time joining Theme Thursday. Mine is posted at my place, Just Books. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    http://sherriesbooks.blogspot.com/2011/03/themed-thursday.html

    • Hi Sherrie
      Wonder why your comments went to my spam.. I had to go and retrieve all of them for them to be shown. Will wait and see if next week they appear without going to the spam …

      Thanks for joining.. Always a pleasure to have new people join in the fun.

  9. Hi!
    This is my first time playing along. My post is up at my place, Just Books. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  10. Mine is similiar to yours, re: making furniture comparisons.

    http://lulilut.blogspot.com/2011/03/theme-thursdays-furniture-march-3.html

  11. I’m new to Theme Thursdays but this looks like fun.

    My snippet is from The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern.

  12. I almost forgot to participate in this! so here is my theme thursday:

    http://mybookaddiction.blogspot.com/2011/03/theme-thursday-3.html

  13. O great quote! And theme 🙂 How do you come up with these?

  14. I am so delighted to have won last week thank you so much.
    Soooz.

  15. Wonderful theme again this week.

    I loved this selection…here is mine for this week;

    http://sooozsaysstuff.blogspot.com/2011/02/theme-thurdays.html

  16. Oh good, Nicholas Sparks!! Here’s my Theme Thursday post.

  17. Here is mine…not brilliant, but my author isn’t into describing or talking about furniture. http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/03/theme-thursday-furniture.html

  18. I haven’t actually read any Sparks, though I keep meaning to. Glad to hear you liked it!

    Mine is up now from The Dressmaker.

  19. I really love this new meme! I’m go check all of yours out now. Enjoy!

  20. I don’t think I linked right the first time. Here’s mine this week:

    http://bookbelle0819.blogspot.com/2011/03/theme-thursdays.html

  21. Hi. Just found your blog through Theme Thursday. Great idea.
    Heather

  22. Realized I forgot to share my blog site:

    http://www.booksarelife-vitalibri.blogspot.com

    Heather

  23. I found a good one in my current read, The Physick Book Of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe. When I read the excerpt I immediately thought of your meme and knew I had to come back and post an additional entry!

    “She settled onto an institutional lavendar sofa in the central reception area, enjoying the blissful sound of quiet. She let herself sink into the cushions, twiddling the tail end of her braid under her nose like a mustache.”

    Can’t you just picture this?!? I thought it was a great passage and wanted to share it…..

Leave a comment