The Innocent by David Baldacci

The Book:

Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads
America has enemies–ruthless people that the police, the FBI, even the military can’t stop. That’s when the U.S. government calls on Will Robie, a stone cold hitman who never questions orders and always nails his target.
But Will Robie may have just made the first–and last–mistake of his career . . .

It begins with a hit gone wrong. Robie is dispatched to eliminate a target unusually close to home in Washington, D.C. But something about this mission doesn’t seem right to Robie, and he does the unthinkable. He refuses to kill. Now, Robie becomes a target himself and must escape from his own people.
Fleeing the scene, Robie crosses paths with a wayward teenage girl, a fourteen-year-old runaway from a foster home. But she isn’t an ordinary runaway-her parents were murdered, and her own life is in danger. Against all of his professional habits, Robie rescues her and finds he can’t walk away. He needs to help her.
Even worse, the more Robie learns about the girl, the more he’s convinced she is at the center of a vast cover-up, one that may explain her parents’ deaths and stretch to unimaginable levels of power.
Now, Robie may have to step out of the shadows in order to save this girl’s life . . . and perhaps his own

The View:

Before I tell you what I think about this book, let me tell you that I am trying to get some pattern in my life and by that I mean, I am trying to do a certain set of activities regardless of how tired I am. I have spaced this over a period of a week and it seems to be working great so far. One of the task that I am enforcing myself to do is … read a book for an hour 5 times a week 🙂 Well, that was no surprise!!! Small steps but a gigantic change and I am totally enjoying the rhythm that is possibly being set.

Now, getting back to the book and author. I have a love – hate relationship with David Baldacci. There are some books that kept me glued and then there were some I could not even bring myself to complete. When I scrolled the library looking for new reads and saw “The Innocent”; I knew I wanted to read it only because I wanted to see which bucket this one fell in. I half expected to read the first 50 pages and put it down and never get back to it, but surprise 4 nights straight (with an hours reading) and here I am with my thoughts.

David Baldacci proves himself as an excellent story-teller with this book. Robie is an assassin and when things go wrong with his latest assignment, he knows he has to run. It is during this time that he meets Julie a 14-year-old girl. With her, he feels a strong urge to protect as he senses that she is in some sort of trouble. Very soon there are a lot of deaths and it takes him a while before he figures out that the target is not really Julie but him. The plot is dense and exciting at the same time. A tough combination when you are having multiple deaths, an assassin, a teenager who has recently lost her parents and even a sprinkle of romance with a neighbor.

I enjoyed Robie and his meticulousness. I felt there was no flaw in the character he was portraying and he remained true to it all the time. What made him even more real was the introduction of Julie in his life. His reaction when he realizes in a split second that his “possible” love is actually the killer was natural and expected of him (though it would have been unjustifiable with any other character). Julie was a wonderful addition to the plot. Initially I felt she was just another teenager who was too mature for her age (Aren’t we reading too many of such portrayals these days?) I slowly realized that she did have a lot more uniqueness within her. The way she explains how she submits her math assignments using the latest technology to Robie was sweet; and instantly gave me a different perspective to the lead characters who were from two different generations, grew up miles apart and yet were so much alike.

Rated a 4 on 5 for the wonderful detailed writing that makes you feel as if you are in the midst of all the chaos that the Robie and Julie are in.


kavyen

Leave a Reply

