Yankee Doodle Dead by Carolyn Hart

The Book:

Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads

Sleuthing couple Annie and Max Darling watch as the Fourth of July explodes not only with fun and fireworks, but with murder. The new library board member has alienated everyone in town, especially the women. But Annie finds it difficult to ignore him–particularly when he is shot dead before her eyes.

The View:

“Yankee Doodle Dead” is the first book I read from the “Death on Demand” series and I am surely hoping that the rest of them are different. I struggled with reading this book as it refused to keep me entertained. Initially I just attributed it to the fact that I dint read the series in the order it was intended too, but I realized that it had nothing to do with it.

The story was simple but there were a lot of dialogues and descriptions that threw me off. The beginning of the book was slow. After almost 1/3rd of the book, there was some action but by then the characters refused to make an impact or create any spark. The constant references to mystery writers, quotes and books was also not very pleasant. Many of the characters were lame and if I see them in real life I would either run away or stare at them profusely hoping something would change about them.

Overall it took me forever to read this book and I only finished it because I dint want to leave it midway. The writing was not impressive, the characters were boring and the story simple. There were no major twists or at least none that would make an impact. Rated a 2 on 5 and I’ll be honest and say that I only finished this book because I had started it. Not worth reading this one!


kavyen

One Response

  1. […] Yankee Doodle Dead by Carolyn Hart […]

Leave a Reply

