Bleachers by John Grisham

The Book:

Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads
High school all-American Neely Crenshaw was probably the best quarterback ever to play for the legendary Messina Spartans. Fifteen years have gone by since those glory days, and Neely has come home to Messina to bury Coach Eddie Rake, the man who molded the Spartans into an unbeatable football dynasty.
Now, as Coach Rake’s “boys” sit in the bleachers waiting for the dimming field lights to signal his passing, they replay the old games, relive the old glories, and try to decide once and for all whether they love Eddie Rake–or hate him. For Neely Crenshaw, a man who must finally forgive his coach–and himself–before he can get on with life, the stakes are especially high.

The View:

I struggled with this book and now that I am actually noticing it, I have had it on my Monday’s “Going to Read” list for more than a month and a half. I would pick it up read a few pages and put it back.. Get back to it in a few days, start all over again , read a few pages and put it back. This weekend I told myself that I have had enough and hence stuck with it till the end.

The story revolves around an impressive high school football coach who rules the moods of people in the small town. He bullies the players to meet targets and provokes mixed emotions from his players, ex-players and residents. Some of them hate him and many others still love and respect him. He is in his death-bed and some of his former players are finally meeting with each other. Stories are being told, memories shared, wounds healed and in the process they slowly discover the man they knew as a coach and a mentor.

I am not a sports fan and maybe that was why this book dint capture me. There were too many references to games, quarterbacks and scores; that it all went over my head. I liked the characters and how they slowly opened up as genuine people but I could not connect with them as their world seem to revolve around the game. Neely was a flawed character and his reaction to people who recognized him irritated me. Of course you are from here and people would recognize you.. Stop making a big deal about it. The only character I loved was Coach Rake and it is unfortunate that we only saw him through others eyes. I wish there was some part of the narration where he spoke about his thoughts.

Overall the book was below average. I only read it because I hate to put down a half-read book. Rated a 2 on 5 . I seriously believe that John Grisham should stick to legal thrillers and not venture into other genres (for everyone’s sake).


kavyen

One Response

  1. […] B – Bleachers by John Grisham […]

Leave a Reply

