The Island by Heather Graham

The Book:

Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads

On a weekend vacation Beth Anderson is unnerved when a stroll on the beach reveals what appears to be a skull. As a stranger approaches, Beth panics and covers the evidence. But when she later returns to the beach, the skull is gone.
Determined to find solid evidence to bring to the police, Beth digs deeper into the mystery of the skull–and everywhere she goes, Keith Henson, the stranger from the beach, seems to appear. He claims to be keeping an eye on her safety, but Beth senses other motives. Then a body washes ashore, and Beth begins to think she needs more help than she bargained for. Because investigating is a dangerous game, and someone wants to stop Beth from playing.

The View:

This is my first time reading Heather Graham and I wonder how I missed her for all these years. But then again, the publishing world is a jungle and there are possibly a zillion authors that we have not yet explored. After reading ‘The Island’ I know for a fact that I am going to be reading a lot more by this author.

Beth is camping in an island with her family along with a bunch of strangers and stumbles upon a skull. She comes back for it along with her brother but by then the skull has disappeared. She gets paranoid and remains that way till the criminals are caught. Keith’s entry into the plot was interesting and Beth’s reaction to his appearance anticipated yet funny. The storyline was straight-forward with not many twists but yet had a surprise element to it. My biggest complaint would be that the title of the book was misleading as only the initial events of the book were based in the island.

There were a lot of characters in the plot and I felt that some of them could have been avoided as not all added the value that they could have. Beth and Keith make a nice pair though I did find their first love-making a bit too soon for my liking. Beth’s family were all sweet and I liked them instantly. The mystery element remained intact till the very last of the book and hence kept the interest alive.

Rated a 4 on 5 for the typical holiday read. I would have liked to read this during a good vacation but I am not complaining 🙂


kavyen

2 Responses

  1. […] I – The Island by Heather Graham […]

  2. I just finished the first 4 in her Krewe of Hunters series–I really like her writing! I will have to put this series on my check out list 🙂

Leave a Reply

