While I’m Still myself by Jeremy Mark Lane

The Book:

Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads
A passionate December love affair.
The meeting of an unexpected traveler.
The consequences of protecting a young new acquaintance.
A journey into an unknown past.

In the stories of While I’m Still Myself, Jeremy Lane eloquently describes the life changing impact of the brief encounter, showing that life and love are not shaped by an entire lifetime, but by the fleeting moments with unexpected people in unexpected places

The View:

I don’t enjoy short stories because I feel they are incomplete in more ways than one. They leave you wanting to know more with assurances that you would not get it. But I am in the phase of stretching my reading horizon so I was excited to read this book nevertheless. There are a lot of good things I have to say about this book; the first thing I noticed however was how well-written it was. There were no ad-hoc errors, visible flaws with grammar or more annoying mistakes of abruptness and spelling mistakes. The writing was simple, straight and sincere. I particularly liked the unique language he very often adopted to describe very common elements.

The stories were short yet well-thought and complete. The author manages to capture emotions, events and characters as close to reality as possible. Descriptions were detailed enough to make you feel the environment the characters were thrown in. I read the book twice, yes twice because I wanted too. Many of those stories touched me deeply and I felt the dire need to get in there with the characters. The Pebblestone Five was the saddest; stories that involve child abuse always makes me angry and not-so-surprisingly I found myself pleased with the ending. ‘That Winter’, ‘Souls in the wind’, ‘The Reflection, Only Hers’ and just about every other story was extremely interesting and capable of keeping you glued to the book.

The characters were all unique, different from each other in lots of ways. The common thread that you can see (if you observe closely) is the situations they are put in and how they remain ‘themselves’ in those situations. The author captures an array of problems ranging from racism, child abuse, lost love, drug addictions and even death and it is amazing how he manages to target such core problem areas through short stories without losing the impact on the reader.

Rated a 4 on 5. You will surely enjoy this as it is not one of those mindless short stories. The stories are sharp, poignant and extremely fascinating and will surely kindle an array of emotions in the reader.

I received a complimentary eArc copy from the author in exchange for my honest opinion on the book.


kavyen

One Response

  1. When read the book last year it resonated causing deep emotions and even now as I read your thoughts on the authors stories those feelings come back Kavyen, the sign of a good book!

Leave a Reply

