Theme Thursdays [Rhymes] – 20Oct11

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

All the themes for this month are published in advance and this week’s theme is

RHYMES (Pick 2 snippets that have rhyming words i.e if one sentence has RAIN the other should have CHAIN or VAIN or SPAIN etc.)

WordPress scheduler seemed to have given up on me today so this one is real late. Sorry about it.

My THURSDAY THEME for RHYMES is here. Pick the word, and search for a rhyming word (use Rhymer as needed) and then look for a snippet with it.

“She put one foot ahead of the other with precise regularity, not allowing her pace to lag.”

“I do face facts,” Meg said.

Taken from “A Wrinkle in Time” By Madeleine L’Engle

Themes for the month of October:

27th Oct 2011 – ENDING WORDS (Pick 2 snippets that have matching last 2 words i.e if one sentence has WIFE the other should have LIFE or KNIFE etc)

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

12 Responses

  1. Wow, I can’t believe that I’m the first person today! I even got a late start!

    I like your snippets.

    You can find mine here:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/thursday-sparks-themes-oct-20/

    I also linked up to Mr. Linky.

  2. oh, this is challenging also. But I did it. I hope everyone notice the linky. sometimes not see names throw folks off. Love this meme.

    • Is it just me? Why am I not able to visit your blog.. gives me some kind of wierd error

      “Blog has been removed
      Sorry, the blog at sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com has been removed. This address is not available for new blogs.”

  3. This one took me for bloody ever! HAHA!

  4. Sometimes I have trouble finding ONE snippet and now I have to find TWO. Good thing this is fun or it might start to feel like work. 🙂

  5. Surprising how tricky this one was! Then once I found one pair I started seeing lots of others. Fun theme!

  6. Hey – Here is mine. 🙂 Yes, this one was kind of challenging.

    http://syco4twilight.blogspot.com/2011/10/theme-thursday-rhymes-6.html

    Thanks,
    Beckie

  7. I’m gonna skip this week since the book I’m reading is a translation to portuguese…

    But I’ll be stopping by to see what other people came up with.

  8. Love A Wrinkle in Time! Great snippets!

  9. I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

