Coffee at Little Angels by Nadine Rose Larter

The Book:

Eight childhood friends Phillip, Sarah, Kaitlyn, Caleb, Maxine, Grant, Melanie and Josh have grown up and are now living their own lives away from each other. Years later when Phillip dies in a hit and run accident, Kaitlyn invites them back to the small town for his funeral.

They all react differently to being present at the funeral, but when they are eventually there; some of them are sad, others are shocked and a few others are just unattached. Will the death of a friend rekindle the love they had for each other as kids?

The View:

“Coffee At Little Angels” is one hell of a quick read. I am obviously doing a lot of catching up with my reading these days and this is always a good thing.

The writing is captivating right from the very first chapter. The story is pretty straight-forward but I kept misjudging the direction the plot would take. Obviously, my assumptions were all wrong. The author has done a beautiful job of taking a very simple concept – “Rendezvous of old friends” and kept it that way all along. The friends have left their past behind and embraced their present but when they meet after almost a decade, their past memories are rekindled. Is that going to be in their favor or against?

The story is told from the point of view of each of the characters and I enjoyed reading it from their perspective immensely. While I did have to go back to the beginning to see which character’s story I was reading every now and then, I felt that the full impact of the relationship was only felt because of the style of writing adapted. I sat back before writing this review to ponder on who was my favorite character, but I liked them all. When the book started I thought I would hate Max and like Melanie, but when I put it book down it was quite the opposite (Did I mention I kept making ridiculous assumptions) 🙂

Rated a 5 on 5 because of the light simple read and the realistic plot. This book left me wondering how I would react if I happened to meet friends from my past… Will I enjoy it or will I be caught in an awkward moment of reliving the past. Read this and I promise the story will remain fresh with you for a long time.

I received a complimentary copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.


kavyen

One Response

  1. Wow thank you so much Kavyen! I am so thrilled that you enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

