Darkness, My Old Friend by Lisa Unger

The Book:

Willow Graves has recently moved to the Hollows along with her divorced novelist mom Bethany. She is not happy about the change and during one of her lonely moments sees Michael digging in the woods. Michael Holt grew up in the Hollows and is back after his father’s death to discover the truth about his mother who went missing many years ago. He seeks the help of Ray and psychic Eloise to trace his beautiful mother Marla Holt.

Jones Cooper is contented with his retired life and spends his time helping his neighbors with their odd jobs. But Eloise warns him of an impending danger. Danger or not, he decides to help Paula Carr and agrees to find her husband’s ex-wife. The characters meet, interact and a new plot evolves when coincidences happen. Will Jones find Paula and her husband’s ex-wife? Where is Marla Holt and will Willow finally get to like living in the Hollows?

The View:

I love to pick books that intrigue me when I see them in fellow bloggers web pages. Sometimes I pick them based on reviews and other times just because I love a snippet the blogger chose. Lisa Unger is an author I was unaware off till I happened to visit Laurel’s blog for a weekly meme. Oh, how glad I am!!

Darkness, My Old Friend is an exciting read. With a divorced novelist, a lonely teenager, a retired detective, a grave-digger, a psychic, a petrified wife and so many more characters, there is no dearth for entertainment in this plot. The story has the right mix of emotions, problems and mysteries associated with relationships. At first it appears as if there are numerous stand-alone tales happening in the Hollows but they all blend together perfectly well as the story progresses.

The characters are all portrayed well and since the story is told from their perspective you tend to understand and relate to them much better. At first I thought that there were too many people and the only thing binding them was the fact that they all lived in a small town but then they interact and the puzzle falls in place. The interaction between the characters however unlikely works out great.

I enjoyed this book tremendously (though I took a long time to complete it with all my family commitments). Thanks to Laurel for the introduction to a great author and book. Rated a 4 on 5. ‘Darkness, an old friend’ appears as a standalone book but is in fact a sequel to her book ‘FRAGILE’. In order for me to completely relate to the book I had to go back and re-read a few chapters, probably reading ‘FRAGILE’ would have helped me avoid this.


kavyen

2 Responses

  1. Great review! I haven’t heard of this on yet, but it is totally being added to my TBR list now! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Sounds interesting! Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

