• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Theme Thursdays [Trees] – 25Aug11

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is

TREES (Plants/Greenery )

I am trying out the linky list for the first time this week. Please leave a comment with your link if it does not work fine. Also I do need suggestions for themes. So pour them in!!!

My THURSDAY THEME for TREES is here and I got a couple this week. 🙂

Had lunch with Lucy in her London pied-a-terre. She gave me a lovely pot of hyacinths.

On the cherry tree sat two woodpigeons as fat as gray cushions, and hopping on the lawn was a blackbird looking for worms among the daisies.

Taken from “No! I Don’t Want to Join a Book Club” By Virginia Ironside

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

13 Responses

  1. Hmmm…I’ll have to see if I can come up with new themes. How about pets/animals?

    http://www.booksandbarks.com/2011/08/theme-thursdays.html

  2. Great theme – I love trees and Mr Linky worked fine.

    Themes – hard to remember what we’ve done.

    Music/Sound
    Textures
    Smells
    Vistas…….i.e. ‘ I looked out and saw..”

  3. Good one, like the title of the book too.

  4. I enjoyed your choice. I like the trees one. The suggestions made are awesome. I love the animal one. With all the shifter books I won’t have a hard time at all. LOL. It is hard to remember which have been done. How about unusual names? Sometimes I read a name I wonder where the author got that from. Seasons and also seasonal ones. A school theme since all the kids are going back to school now.

  5. Mr Linky seems to be working fine- apart from we can’t see whose linked to follow without clicking to enter our own link.

    Themes (ignore any that have already been done):
    Sky
    Children
    Books
    Music
    Learning

  6. Great theme this week!

    Let’s see…I’m not sure which ones we may have already done but here’s a couple…

    famous person mention
    appliances
    countries, cities, states

  7. I love the title of your book, I have to put that one on my TBR list.

    Weather related, sun, rain, snow, etc.

    Water, lake, ocean, fountain, swimming pool, etc.

    Hair

    I’m all out of ideas.

  8. Yes, Mr. Linky worked, although when I didn’t see the list on the page, I was worried…LOL

    I love trees! I didn’t find my excerpt right away, but then on page 9, there it was!

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/thursday-sparks-themes-august-25/

  9. Hi Kavyen,
    I’ll have to check out this book, sounds interesting. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

    Animals
    Ships
    Bugs
    Horses

  10. Picturing the pigeons made me laugh!

  11. Great linky! And I love your quote with trees in as well, not quite as much as I love the title of the book though – it’s brilliant!

    Ideas…
    beauty/makeup/mirrors/lookingglass/vanity/fashion
    health/wellbeing/illness/disease/
    foods/desserts/dinners/veges/breakfasts/cooking/baking/drinks
    hobbies/adventure/travel/work/exotic locations

    I’ll keep thinking!
    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/08/theme-thursday_25.html

Leave a Reply

