The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Book:

Three women in Jackson, Mississippi have decided to make a difference to the lives of colored people.

Skeeter has just returned home after getting a college degree but her mother is obsessed about her marriage. She lives an ordinary life just like every social white woman in her small town. But a part of her misses Constantine, the black maid who raised her.

Aibileen is a black maid who is now raising her seventeenth white child. She lost her son a few years back and treats two-year old Mae as her own. Her friend Minny is short, fat and much younger than her. She is a great cook, almost the best in town but has a reputation of being a very obnoxious and talkative help. To add to that she also manages to get in the bad books of Hilly, the community social leader.

Why do these three women come together? Is there a cause that would bring some good to the black community?

The View:

‘The Help’ is one the books I have been dying to read and I am glad I did. It is a captivating read and I surely sacrificed many sleeping hours as I could not put this one down.

While reading this book I found myself sitting right there as they baked chocolate cakes, cooked and cleaned, lost their dear ones, loved as no one could and heard their white bosses talk. The writing was as real as it could get. There were a lot of snippets that made you pause and think and a lot of life’s lessons were thrown into the plot seamlessly.

Three strong women and you can’t help but love each and every one of them. If I had to choose one favorite it would be Aibileen, because she had the strength and courage to do what no one would have dared to do at those times. Without her, The Help would have been but a dream. Skeeter is a woman of character. She looks at things differently and manages to stand up for things she believed in. Minny made me laugh, her audacity is something I could not bring myself to accept. But I still enjoyed her antics and I think she contributed to the best part of the book.

This is by far the best book I have read this year. I always get excited when I finish a book but with this one I was sad that it ended so quickly. Yes! 400+ pages of the ‘Help’ and I needed more. Rated a 5 on 5  – This book is a MUST READ.


kavyen

5 Responses

  1. It is always a blessing to read a book that transports you past the pages and straight into what the characters are feeling, this sounds like such a read and glad you got the chance to experience it Kavyen… Second hand so did I thanks to you and now that I have a title and author maybe someday I will also.

  2. I, too, loved this book! It is a story that stays with you long after you have completed the final pages. I am looking forward with great anticipation to August 12 when the movie is released!

  3. I have been reading such good reviews about this book, I will be picking it up next time I’m in the bookstore.

  4. I can’t wait to read this book. My friend has a copy she’s going to lend to me so it’s right up on the top of my to read pile.

  5. The previews of the movie appears that its going to be just like the book or better. I am definitely planning to go see it this fall.

Leave a Reply

