Theme Thursdays [Facial Parts] – 07Jul11

Theme Thursdays

Theme Thursdays is a fun weekly event that will be open from one thursday to the next. Anyone can participate in it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Mention the author and the title of the book along with your post
  • It is important that the theme is conveyed in the sentence (you don’t necessarily need to have the word)
    Ex: If the theme is KISS; your sentence can have “They kissed so gently” or “Their lips touched each other” or “The smooch was so passionate”

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is

FACIAL PARTS (Eyes, Ears, Nose, Lips etc)

I love how you all interpret these themes. Last week was really exciting as some of you came up with some cool interpretations. Sadly a few of you did not participate as it was a tough theme, but am so looking forward to a lot of interesting snippets this week.

My THURSDAY THEME for Facial Parts is here. Yes, taken from PAGE 1!!!!!

He’d dressed in black, of course, and with his dark wavy hair, light blue eyes, and fashionable stubble, he looked every bit the New Yorker that he was.
Taken from page 1 “True Believer” by “Nicholas Sparks”

Leave a comment here with a link to your post. Do make sure to visit and comment on other Theme Thursdays.


kavyen

31 Responses

  1. Well done finding the perfect snippet on p1 – mine is early on in the book too p14.

    http://cat-bookmagic.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday-facial-parts.html

  2. wild, i was reading the right book this week. nothing but body part, ugh, some i dont dare put into words. lol.
    however, i found a good one

    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

  3. This was so much easier for me to find than the one from last week. I like how yours has three that fit the category this week in it.

    Theme Thursdays (Facial Parts)

  4. Great theme and snippet.
    Here my snippet

  5. Another fun week…mine is here

  6. Yay! I get to play this week….I like yours, Kavyen…here’s mine:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2011/07/07/thursday-sparks-themes-july-7/

  7. A lot easier than last week lol! Not as quickly as yours, mine was on page 17. Though I could have chosen one in the first couple of pages, I liked this one better. ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.booksandbarks.com/2011/07/theme-thursday.html

  8. It actually took me a while to find a good one this week.
    http://nofiltermom.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday.html

  9. Wow – page 1! That’s good. Fortunately I didn’t have to search too hard for this one either.

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday.html

  10. Hi Kavyen,
    I like your snippet, he sounds very handsome . Mine is posted. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books
    http://sherriesbooks.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday.html

  11. Hey there everyone!

    I am new to Theme Thursdays, but here is my link! I was really excited about this weeks theme ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://hardcoverharlequin.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday-1.html

  12. Interesting theme this week. I was able to find mine on pg 13. Not quite as good as page 1 but not too bad.

    My theme post is HERE

  13. Nice!! I’m not too far into the book, so I took a cue from you and used hair ^_~ And on page 1 no less!! Awesome!

    Here’s mine: http://sinnfulbooks.blogspot.com/2011/07/theme-thursday.html

    sinn @ sinnful books

  14. +JMJ+

    Oh, dear! I probably shouldn’t join this week, either. Not when my current read is a WWII History book in which the last memorable passage about facial parts involved an angry soldier’s bayonet! =(

    But I think I’ll read what everyone else found in their books, anyway! =)

    PS — I have a friend who is passionate about New York City, her home. I’ll have to ask her what she thinks of Nicholas Sparks’s description!

    • +JMJ+

      PS — Kavyen, I was wondering: is there a page on your blog where you announce the Thursday themes in advance?

      • Great question!! That way I can mark the theme while I’m reading and don’t have to go back in search for it on the day of…

    • I think this is a brilliant idea. I don’t plan these themes in advance myself but guess it is high time I start doing it. How about I post the themes for the whole month on the first week? Do you think that would work…

      • +JMJ+

        I think it would be great if you did that! =)

        There’s a fun “scavenger hunt” element to looking for the themed snippets on the day of the post, but I really do think it would help to know the theme in advance. But you can take a survey of your other readers–especially those who have been participating for a while–to see which one the majority prefers.

  15. I didn’t participate last week, but it has nothing to do with the theme, lol. I was out of town so I didn’t even check it!

    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=2800

  16. First time participating! I really waited until the last minute. xD
    Here’s mine:
    http://caughtbetweenthepages.wordpress.com/2011/07/07/theme-thursdays-facial-parts/

Leave a Reply

