Danger in the Shadows by Dee Henderson

The Book:

Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads

Sara’s terrified. She’s falling in love. And if that’s not bad enough, it’s with former pro football player Adam Black, a man everyone knows. That fact could cost Sara her life. Sara has been invisible, hidden away in a witness protection program from the man who kidnapped her and her sister twenty-five years ago, who caused her sister’s death, and who so traumatized Sara that she blocked out the memory of his face. But Sara knows that he’s still doing everything possible to find her-and finish her off before her memory returns. Her only safety is in staying invisible, but Adam won’t listen, or give up on what they can have together. Soon they’re both caught in a chain of events that brings Sara face to face with terror-and with the sure knowledge that only God can save her and set her free from the Danger in the Shadows.

The View:

I downloaded this book on my kindle when it was offered for free and I said to myself ‘Please let this not be one of those books that I start but never complete’. Before going any further I have to mention that my kindle is now re-organized to have ‘Read’, ‘Unread’ and ‘Abandoned’. The maximum number of books fall in the ‘Unread’ pile, but ‘Abandoned’ is dangerously close. Since I have started the review for this one, ‘Danger in the Shadows’ has safely moved the ladder and reached the ‘Read’ pile.

The book started off in a pace that caught me off-guard. Sarah meets Adam in a stuck elevator that causes her to panic and re-live her disastrous past if only for a few minutes. Adam helps her through it and they feel a connection that could be dangerous for the both of them. We get a peek into her past and the story’s pace and excitement builds from there-on. As the story proceeded, I felt the need to know more about the kidnapper and was disappointed that all we ever heard of him was through Sarah’s fears or Dave’s preparedness. At one point I even thought that the story will twist and such a kidnapper will not exist.. Well! As much as I would have liked more mystery and suspense, I am not going to be complaining as the romance aspect was spot on.

The characters were all strong and created with a lot of faith and conviction. I liked Sarah Walsh and the emotions that she struggles with. Dave is a brother you will want to have by your side always.. Protective and strong. Adam’s sincere love for her was so pure and captivating. I wanted to give them all one big hug when it all ended.

Rated a 3 on 5. I liked this book but needed more. I enjoyed the author’s writing style and the romance that covered most of the story.


kavyen

One Response

  1. I have this one on my kindle too Kavyen, one of the many free reads I loaded onto my computer last November and have not gotten to yet… Maybe now since you have read it will get to it sooner as have a taste these days for “summer” reads and this one qualifies!
    Thanks for reminding me about the book, have updated it to books recommended to be read on my kindle….

Leave a Reply

