Room by Emma Donoghue

The Book:


Source for ‘The Book’ section : From Goodreads
To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It is where he was born and grew up; it’s where he lives with his Ma as they learn and read and eat and sleep and play. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it is the prison where Old Nick has held her captive for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for Jack. But she knows it’s not enough…not for her or for him. She devises a bold escape plan, one that relies on her young son’s bravery and a lot of luck. What she does not realize is just how unprepared she is for the plan to actually work.

The View:

I have not read books by Emma Donoghue and would not have read this one either .. that is if Sheila from Book Journey had not reviewed or recommended it. Here is the link to her review. I picked this from the library the day I read her post and started reading it very soon afterwards.

I have been struggling with my reading these days but with the ‘Room’ it was a different story altogether. I carried it with me even when meeting my girlfriends for a day out (of course I did not get to read it). Jack just turned 5 and he has spent all of his life confined in a 11*11 foot room. His only company is his Ma. They have a visitor who Jack likes to call Old Nick and he brings them their occasional supplies and Sunday treats. I have been reading a few books about abduction and kidnapping and while they all were told from different perspectives this one was the best. With the media reporting more tales of missing people than rescues I think this book managed to touch a tender spot..

There were very few characters in the book and even for them the author did not provide detailed character sketches. The reason being that the story is told by a 5-year-old and it would not be justified if he understood and explained people and characters. While reading this book I developed a deep respect for Ma. I admired the fact that she managed to entertain, teach and keep her son engaged in such a small confined space. Her protective motherly instinct and her unconditional love for Jack were beautifully portrayed. Jack is a hero and his innocence is so ‘I-want-to-protect-you-huggable’.

After reading this one, I know for a fact that I am now more open to reading books that touch a delicate spot. Rated a 5 on 5  for the sheer simplicity exhibited by the author while conveying such a strong message. Honestly I don’t think anyone could have done better.


kavyen

3 Responses

  1. Awesome review! I am so glad you chose to read it. It really is one that sticks with you and I am so glad this book won the 2011 Alex Award (an adult book with appeal to teen readers) and many other awards as well!

  2. I thought the book was very well written and it is a very tough subject matter. However, it does open up our eyes to the other side of the coin–we often think what makes the bad man bad but seeing everything from the victim’s side and the boy made it much more interesting.

  3. I absolutely LOVED this book i also wrote a review – check it out if you like: http://blogabooketc.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/room-by-emma-donoghue/

    Glad you enjoyed it – what are you going to read next? 😀

Leave a Reply

