A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

The Book:

There was a time when the world was sweeter….when the women in Beaufort, North Carolina, wore dresses, and the men donned hats…. Every April, when the wind smells of both the sea and lilacs, Landon Carter remembers 1958, his last year at Beaufort High. Landon had dated a girl or two, and even once sworn that he’d been in love. Certainly the last person he thought he’d fall for was Jamie, the shy, almost ethereal daughter of the town’s Baptist minister….Jamie, who was destined to show him the depths of the human heart-and the joy and pain of living. The inspiration for this novel came from Nicholas Sparks’s sister: her life and her courage. From the internationally bestselling author Nicholas Sparks, comes his most moving story yet….

Source: From Goodreads

The View:

Down with the flu! The thing I missed most apart from the gym was blogging and meeting fellow bloggers. I would have been happy had I managed to read a few books but all I managed to do was fall asleep. Yes, sleep … Oh, I hate the flu. I did read “A Walk to Remember” over the weekend in the midst of all the pill popping and sick ranting. Did I mention I kept falling asleep?

Sick or not; I am a romantic (You would have realized that by now) and a good love story brings out a splurge of emotions within me. The story of “A Walk to Remember” is definitely one of those. I was so touched by the story that I had goosebumps reading a few chapters and those are the times when I intentionally opted to place the book down and take a break. The story is told in a simplistic style yet is tender and endearing.

I connected with Jamie and Landon as if they were old friends; I cried when they shared their most intimate secrets and laughed when they had a good time. Initially Jamie was someone who was just too good to be true, but as the story moved I started to believe her and accept her innocence. As Landon grew into a better person; I felt as if I did too.

Rated a 5 on 5.. I enjoyed the book so much that I read it through every single hour I was awake and managed to complete it with just two sittings. The story transported me to a different world and kept me engrossed through every passing page.

Warning: Do not read this book without a big box of Kleenex. You will need it!


kavyen

2 Responses

  1. I haven’t read this book but have the movie in our collection. It is a tear jerker, probably more than most of his. Thanks for the review which has inspired me to find a copy of this book. Hope you are feeling better.

  2. I have this one on my shelf. I remember watching the movie and crying my eyes out during that, so I know the book will be worse!

Leave a Reply

