Anything goes on Saturday – Urban or Oxford

This is a new meme called “Anything Goes on Saturday” hosted by Yvonne from Socrates Book Reviews. It’s a chance to choose any topic you want and talk about it on Saturday – it can be about a book, TV show, movie, a recipe or just an update on your week. Whatever you choose.

I was driving down yesterday and came across a bumper sticker that read “I’M AWETASTIC”. I was impressed by the usage of a word that combined “Awesome” and “Fantastic” so much that I managed to google it today.. Surprise!! There is a whole new website dedicated for such random words – Urban dictionary

Here are a few words I thought was .. Well! Out of the ordinary.

Word: Bloggerazzi
Meaning: An individual that waits for authors of popular blogs to post new entries so that they can be the first to leave a comment.

Word: Froday
Meaning: The day you finally realize you are in desperate need of a haircut

Word: Surpleased
Meaning: Getting a surprise that pleases you.

Have you come across a word that is more a part of the urban world than the Oxford dictionary? Do you think it is appropriate to make up words for our convenience or would you rather stick to the conventional words? Would love to know your thoughts…


kavyen

4 Responses

  1. Those words are funny! Personally, I am a little older and probably wouldn’t know what they meant if someone used them in a sentence, but each to their own!

  2. Those are so funny. I never heard of doing that with regular words. I’ve heard of doing it for famous couples like Brangelina (Brad Pitt/Angelina Jolie), but not for regular words. Good find.

  3. I love the urban dictionary. It is hilarious at times..

    Here is my Anything Goes On Saturday post!

  4. I think it’s awetastic that Oxford English Dictionary has added new words. OMG, LOL, and BFF are just a few of the new entries.

    Sidenote: I’d like my own bloggerazzi. LOL

Leave a Reply

