After the Leaves Fall by Nicole Baart

The Book:

Julia DeSmit can’t wait for her life to begin. After her mother leaves when Julia is nine years old, she’s raised by an unassuming, gentle father and a saintly, matriarchal grandmother until her father dies just as Julia is becoming a young adult.

On the cusp of womanhood, Julia feels jaded by her circumstances and longs for a new identity. College seems like the perfect place to start over. But when Julia makes a mistake that will change her life forever, she returns to her grandmother’s farm, defeated and convinced of her own worthlessness. Only through the gentle prodding of her loving grandmother does Julia begin to accept the imprint her childhood has left on her life and look for hope in a loving God who longs to make all things new.

Source: From Goodreads

The View:

I am always on the lookout for good and free e-books. “After the Leaves Fall” was recommended to me by a friend and I still saw a few reviews before I started on this book.

The book was an emotional read. There were a lot of complex emotions that were dealt with realistically. I expected the book to leave me depressed because of all the tragedies in Julia’s life but strangely it dint. I landed up adoring the strength that Julia exhibits with the help of her grandma.

Anyone who has faced a few tragedies in life would deeply relate to Julia and sympathize with her. She is genuine and reacts to people and situations just as any of us would – sometimes strong, sometimes insecure. Her grandma is a woman to look out for – with her strong faith and gentle nature.

The writing was intense and I am already looking forward to read the sequel. I enjoyed this more than I thought I would so I will rate this a 4 on 5. Some of the chapters where a little slow but I enjoyed the read greatly.


kavyen

3 Responses

  1. Nice review, Kavyen. I am glad you enjoyed this….

  2. Love the rating! Same as mine. Great review!

  3. the cover is quirky. but your review of its seriousness makes this an appealing read. adding it to my list ;-D

Leave a Reply

