Anything goes on Saturday – Genre Experimentation

This is a new meme called “Anything Goes on Saturday” hosted by Yvonne from Socrates Book Reviews. It’s a chance to choose any topic you want and talk about it on Saturday – it can be about a book, TV show, movie, a recipe or just an update on your week. Whatever you choose.

Today I want to talk about something that I have been slightly curious about. Are you someone who is open to genre experimentation? I normally read mysteries, thrillers, romances and a selected few other genres. But the question is how often do I read other genres i.e. if I ever do?

I do read other genres as and when required. Obviously it is not the first book I pick up from my TBR’s but I do – Eventually. And surprisingly I do enjoy many of them. I wish I explored/experimented more often but I don’t. This is one of my reading goals of 2011 – Experiment more!

Let me know if you are open to experimentation?


kavyen

4 Responses

  1. I’m open to genre experimentation, but I seldom actually go there. Mainly it’s because I have so much waiting to be read in the genres that I like, but if something comes along that I don’t normally read, I’ll try it.

  2. I don’t venture outside of my comfort zone very often. I enjoy thrillers, chick lit and women’s fiction. Since I started book blogging I have read some YA though and I have really enjoyed it!

  3. I’m open to genre experimentation. That’s actually how I learn about new authors. Experimenting also helps me not to judge a book by its cover.

  4. I used to be really stuck in my favourite genres – historical fiction and suspense thrillers but book blogging has really made me move into different genres and I’m discovering so many books I love. This year my challenge to myself is to read more non-fiction and books/authors from foreign countries. So far all proving very positive.

Leave a Reply

