Anything goes on Saturday – Blog Follower

This is a new meme called “Anything Goes on Saturday” hosted by Yvonne from Socrates Book Reviews. It’s a chance to choose any topic you want and talk about it on Saturday – it can be about a book, TV show, movie, a recipe or just an update on your week. Whatever you choose.

This week I would like to talk about being a follower. With today’s advancement in the blogging world we have different methodologies to follow someone. We have email subscription, GFC, RSS feeds, google reader, twitter and….(I seriously don’t even know how many other forums we have there). While many bloggers have GFC, few of us (using wordpress) cannot have it on our blog. Then there are few who don’t have the option of feed subscriptions and a few others don’t have email subscriptions. Eventually At the end of the day I land up having to check my google reader, my twitter, emails and everywhere else.

Has all these forums made our life difficult or easy? Which mode of following do you prefer.. I stick with emails. When an email reaches my inbox I open it nevertheless and get to read the post.

Let me know your thoughts.


kavyen

8 Responses

  1. I love getting blog posts in my email daily, it makes it easy to pick and choose what to follow up on and go to the blog to actually comment… I hate the blog readers and forget and do not have the time to open it up and mess with it anyway as follow over 500 blogs on it and that is too many to weed through… I go on Twitter occasionally and find interesting things to look up, some cool contests for sure for book giveaways that even if I never enter at least get to spread the word… I also like my Networked Blogs on Facebook which does not get my attention every day but have gotten some good book tips from it on occasion…

    As far as all the social site connections to follow blogs making it easier, no not really!

    • Lol, exactly my thoughts. I have never tried Networked blogs though I have seen quite a few bloggers using it. Maybe that is another option I need to explore. But till then good old emails are always there..

  2. I like to follow via Google Reader. Nothing else works for me. I click through the posts, and visit the ones that interest me. It keeps me updated and connected.

    Here is my Anything Goes On Saturday post:

    http://readbookswritepoetry.blogspot.com/2011/02/anything-goes-on-saturday-short-stories.html

    • Yes google reader is my second option.. if my email server crashes or for bloggers who dont have an email subscription option. But again I dont subscribe to everyone via email as that would make me crazy… Just the sheer volume of posts that is.

  3. I do a combination of things. I’ll follow through Google Reader and sometimes I subscribe to blogs. I don’t really have a preference, but I do like getting things in my email. It reminds me of things, otherwise I’ll forget.

  4. I follow different blogs via GFC, Twitter and/or Facebook, but I stay most in touch with my favorite blogs through an email subscription.

Leave a Reply

