Theme Thursdays – Introduction

This is a fun weekly event that I have been planning to have for a while now and I am finally getting to do it. “Theme Thursdays” will be open from one thursday to the next and anyone can post it. The rules are simple:

  • A theme will be posted each week (on Thursday’s)
  • Select a conversation/snippet/sentence from the current book you are reading
  • Post it and don’t forget to mention the author and the title of the book
  • Since we may take a few days to finish a book, this event is open for one whole week

This will give us a wonderful opportunity to explore and understand different writing styles and descriptive approaches adopted by authors.

This week’s theme is – LOVE

PS:Since this is the first week, I am posting the introduction post a day earlier with the theme.

Here is an example:

“Dad loved you the best, but I’ll take care of Mom. Just like she always took care of us. I know Mom will get better even if you don’t.”

From David Baldacci’s – Wish you Well

Love Lingers.
He would see if it did.

From Michael Koryta’s – The Cypress House

Leave a comment here and let me know if you would like to participate. It would be good fun so join along… We will start posting our sentences tomorrow.

25 Responses

  1. Good idea and good choice to start with Kavyen… It has been a long while since I read the book but it is still in my “keeper shelf”!

    • Jackie, thanks so much for your comment. Would you participate in this weekly event? I hope you are being brave for your surgery. My wishes and prayers!

  2. If you keep it going I would love to after I get well and am able to stay online to participate and check out others picks…. This week I am still trying to get caught up on my blog posts that have not been written and other stuff around the house as now have countdown to first operation on the 23rd… I know for sure that day and probably the next week no computer for me, or after the first 48 hours very little anyway…

    I have bookmarked it in my Meme’s to try out file and will watch and see how it goes when I can get back on my computer in a few weeks… What I will do is do a promo to run next week for the MEME on the 24th with the comments turned off to make people who follow my blog aware of it…

  3. Sure thing! I am going to have to search for a part in one of my books since I am sure he would love to kill someone but I don’t think that is the love you are aiming for πŸ™‚ LOL

  4. Great idea1 I’ll try this out for sure. It sounds fun. It’s a bit similar to the Teaser Tuesday meme, which I also love, so this is right up my alley!

    Thanks for the heads up on my blog!

  5. I didn’t notice about that(the , instead of . ) , thanks so much!!

  6. Although I have another weekly meme on thursday I would love to participate in this one as well

  7. Sounds like a fun meme. Things a bit hectic around here right now but will be jumping on board in a few weeks.

  8. This sounds like fun. I’m in!

  9. Sounds awesome! And the perfect theme for the book I’m reading right now πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely have a sentence or two up tomorrow!

  10. Looks like fun! I am correct in assuming you’re using sentences that contain the “theme” of the week? I’m not currently reading anything right now, just listening to an audio book, but I could post from my upcoming read or participate next week…

    • Hi Tasha, Thats a good point. Sorry I should have been clear. I am adding some clarification in my first post.. what is important is that the theme should be conveyed.. lets say the theme is KISS

      your post can say “They kissed gently” or “They smooched” or “Their lips touched” etc.

      I hope this gives a better picture…

  11. This sounds like a fun meme and I’d like to participate. The biggest problem for those of us in the Southern Hemisphere is the time difference. Right now it is early evening Thursday here ………would it be possible to continue to post the theme earlier so we see it on our Thursday. πŸ™‚

    • That is a brilliant suggestion Cat.

      Do you recommend we post the theme a day before (like I did today) or do we do it with the previous week’s theme thursday post? I am torn ….

      • Thanks – those of us down under will appreciate that. πŸ™‚ Either way way is fine so whatever suits you best.

Leave a Reply

