The 5th Horseman by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro

The Book:


Just when you expect patients to get back home healthy they suddenly die. Yuki’s mother Keiko is also admitted to the same fatal San Francisco Municipal hospital where she mysteriously meets with the same fate. Lindsay along with the women’s’ murder club decide to investigate these untimely deaths and take it upon themselves to discover the reason behind these ‘accidents’.

Are these deaths really just accidents or is there a serial killer on the prowl in the hospital?

The View:

I read this book sometime early January but never got to review it then. Obviously I read it in the midst of too much chaos and took almost a week to finish it. This timeline would be a record (a terrible one) since I finish the author’s books in a day or two (in the worst of cases). I have to mention that in better days I would have read it in a day or even lesser.

The book is fast paced with a gripping, fun and yet disappointing plot. There were a few twists to keep you going but most of them were anticipated. There were two different cases – one involving mysterious deaths in a hospital and another involving the gruesome death of beautiful call girls. The book would have done better if the focus was on either one of the cases as it would have assured us a better quality mystery. Also apparent was the missing motive behind the case which left me searching for answers even after I completed the book.

The Women’s murder club is definitely an exciting series. If you have read the books in the order they were published you would connect to the women and feel for them like I do. They are smart, go-getters with a common passion. Yuki is relatively new and the sudden demise of her charming and lovable mother did not make me feel for her like it would do with the other characters.

5th Horseman sadly did not bring anything new to the table. If you are James Patterson fan go ahead and read this one as you will definitely enjoy it, but if you are looking for one of his best works this is not it. A predictable read and hence this just gets a 3 on 5.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve only read one James Patterson book: Sundays at Tiffany’s and I suspect his co-author did most of the writing. Never-the-less,I absolutely loved the story and it was recently a Life Time movie. You were on my mind Kavyen. I was so glad to see you drop by yesterday. Thanks so much for your kind words about my reviews. You are truly the sweetest!

  2. The last few Patterson books I have read haven’t really impressed me. I will continue with this series though. I have read through the third book so far….

Leave a Reply

