4th of July by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

The Book:

Lindsay Boxer is involved in a near-fatal car chase causing her to make an instantaneous decision. She repents the action very soon afterwards. Finding her partner in the hospital bed, having the guilt of shooting dead a teenager and almost paralyzing another leaves her running for some solace and peace to her sister’s place in the picturesque town of Half Moon Bay.

Soon after she reaches there, her instincts sets in when a string of murders rocks the little peaceful town. Does she solve the mystery behind the series of murders or does she become a victim herself? Do the twelve jurors who decide her fate understand why she did what she did?

The View:

I wanted to read as many books of the Women’s Murder Club series for the James Patterson reading challenge, and I am happy that I made it till the 4th book. The 4th book was exciting nevertheless and much different from the previous ones.

The book focussed primarily only on Lindsay and barely had any roles for the other women in the murder club. Claire has an occasional appearance but nothing of great significance. Cindy has no part at all and it made me miss Jill… maybe if Jill was still alive the women would have rocked. Fuki’s introduction was impressive and I liked her in the book, but I am not sure if she can or is intended to replace Jill for the rest of the series. However I am only more eager to see how the next book in the series is directed.

The court scenes were very detailed and gave a clear insight of what happens. I enjoyed the arguments, the way the facts were portrayed and the detailed picturisation of the solemn setting and uncertainty in court.

This book is definitely among the ones I liked so I will rate it a 4 on 5. With this book I have completed the James Patterson reading challenge and will be writing my wrap up post tomorrow.

Oh, I am so going to miss this challenge!

One Response

  1. […] 4th of July by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro […]

Leave a Reply

