Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks

The Book:

Adrienne is a sixty year old, divorced mother and grandmother. When her daughter tries to cope with the death of her husband, Adrienne helps her get back to normal life and finally decides to tell her a well hidden secret about a love affair she had 14 years ago. This sets the base of the book.

Adrienne met Paul when she is watching a small inn along the beach of Rodanthe as a favor to a friend. Dr. Paul Flanner is a divorced surgeon who visits Rodanthe to finish some personal business and checks-in into the inn. They are both alone and start keeping each other’s company while anticipating a storm. They start off as strangers with small conversations but when it is time to part they are deeply and madly in love. Paul has to leave to Ecuador to finally be the dad he never was and promises to come back after a year.

As Adrienne narrates the story to Amanda, her daughter in the kitchen, the anticipation and curiosity builds over the ending of this mature, beautiful and heart-wrenching love story.

The View:

A divorced surgeon, a divorced mother and grandmother with an ailing father, an inn on the beach, stormy days and nights and lots of pure unadulterated romance. What is not to fall in love with this book? This is my second Nicholas Sparks. The first one was “Message in a bottle” and though it was a long time ago I vaguely remember crying myself to sleep and waking up to a stunned roommate sitting by my bed. I have moved on since then and entered into the thriller / mystery genre which I equally love, but I surely miss the excitement and sadness that comes with reading a romantic passage.

The book tells the tale of two lonely middle-aged people who find romance when they least expect too. The chemistry between Paul and Adrienne is very realistic and mind-blowing. The author has done a fantastic job of detailing the subtle yet critical things leading to their long talks, their confessions of the past, their walks and eventually their love. I was so wonder-struck by the descriptions that many times it just felt so real.

He wasn’t sure when it had happened. It might have been yesterday when they were walking on the beach, or when she’d first told him about her father, or even this morning when they had eaten together in the soft light of the kitchen. Or maybe it happened when he found himself holding her hand and standing close, wanting nothing more than to gently press his lips against hers.

I knew the book had a sad ending but when it came to that I was heart-broken. I however would not have wanted the ending to be any other way. Paul and Adrienne were picture perfect in the various roles that life threw at them – father, surgeon, mother, grandmother, daughter, friend and finally lovers.

I closed the book wondering why we don’t write love letters any more? I guess anyone would after reading this little snippet from Paul’s letter to Adrienne.

I hope that you’re doing okay. As I write this letter, I know that I’m not. Saying good-bye to you today is the hardest thing I’ll ever have to do, and when I get back, I can honestly swear that I’ll never do it again. I love you now for what we’ve already shared, and I love you now in anticipation of all that’s to come. You are the best thing that’s ever happened to me. I miss you already, but I’m sure in my heart that you’ll be with me always. In the few days I spent with you, you became my dream.

Rated 4 on 5. Yes, I am watching the movie and very soon picking up another book by Nicholas Sparks 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Kavyen have you ever watched the movie or read the book Bridges of Madison County? It is along the same theme and you might like it too. Sparks has some kind of mojo that draws us back in over and over. Message In A Bottle was just a heartbreaker for me and this one was little better in that department but a good story none the less…

    jackie b

    • Thanks Jackie. I have already ordered this in my local library.. Thanks so much for giving these pointers to some really great reads !

  2. I have this one as well. His books always make me cry so much!

    • I know.. I wish we were more durable 🙂 I am watching the movie right now but seriously nothing to beat what the book made me feel !

  3. Why don’t people write love letters? Good question.

Leave a Reply

