2nd Chance by James Patterson and Andrew Gross

“2nd Chance by James Patterson and Andrew Gross”

The Book:

This is the second book in the James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series and is just as thrilling as the first one if not better.  Lindsay is taking a much deserved break after resolving the bride-groom murders and facing a personal tragedy. Her vacation is cut short when she has to rush back to work after being made aware of a horrible tragedy in a low-income San Francisco neighbourhood – the death of a 11-year-old caused by a mad shooting spree in a local church. By natural progression it definitely looks like a racially motivated killing after a second near-perfect shooting follows.

When the political pressure on the case deepens Lindsay resorts to the reliable Women’s Murder Club and the case takes a different turn. A killer with a much deeper objective could be causing the havoc and all they have to take the investigation forward is a symbol called “Chimera” representing the lowest criminal element within the state’s prison system.

The View:

It is almost like an obsession with the Women’s Murder Club series, by the time I am putting down one book I already have the next one lined up. 2nd Chance prompted me to quickly hunt down the next in the series. I particularly liked the fact that in this book more light was shed on the personal life of the murder club women making us want to love them and allowing us to relate to them as individuals who in spite of their smartness are as vulnerable as anybody else.

Lindsay’s personal story is highlighted by her having to come face to face with her dreaded past. A seamless interaction is exhibited between her past and the present through her father. She continues to face her share of life threatening moments and has her loved ones by her side to rely on.

The book has an unexpected ending and the twists make the book a page turner. I am rating this a 4 on 5.

4 Responses

  1. Nice! I recently read and reviewed 1st To Die. Good to see the second book was also great!

  2. I have a thing against James Patterson but I’m going to give him a second chance when I read “First To Die” later this year. I hope I like it as much as you did!

  3. Do you have the 7th one (7th Heaven)? I think I have a brand new copy I’m probably not going to read and I would totally send it to you if you are interested and live in the states.

    Email me: suitejuju(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

