Friday 56 – The Blue Notebook

Here is my entry for Friday 56 – A Magick Life. This meme is hosted by http://storytimewithtonya.blogspot.com/

The rules as stated are:

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post that sentence (plus one or two others if you like) along with these instructions on your blog or (if you do not have your own blog) in the comments section of this blog.
  • Post a link along with your post back to this blog.
  • Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

I am currently reading “THE BLUE NOTEBOOK” by James.A.Levine. The story is about Batuk, a young Indian girl who is sold into prostitution by her father. A very touching topic…

Under his touch I blackened, like a pot of ink being poured over paper. The blackness soaked across, through, and inside me. Go on, touch me! Now take your hands from my skin and look. Look! You can see the ink stain. Go ahead, try to wash me off. No, you will need far more water than that; I am forever in the creases of your fingertips.

4 Responses

  1. Whoa. I’m intrigued.
    Thanks for stopping by Tales of Whimsy.com 🙂

  2. Wow, I wanna read more.

  3. Hi!
    I read this book earlier this year. I am like you, I had to put this book down several times. It was very disturbing. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

  4. Wow, that’s a pretty intense part of the book. I’m anxious to see how you like the rest of it!

    Here is my Friday 56 post!

Leave a Reply

