What Men Want by Deborah Blumenthal

Hi
I have been reading … and more so because of the Read-a-Thon.
“What Men Want” by Deborah Blumenthal is definitely not one of those books I would pick up if I am in a sane state of mind, however I wanted something that would give me the satisfaction of an increased completed book count at the end of the Read-a-Thon and that is how this landed on my “Checked out” list.

Newspaper reporter Jenny George (a vanilla sounding name??) is a smart successful journalist who has a normal live in relationship with her boyfriend Chris. Just before Christmas she is assigned to the Caribbean to get juicy information about Reilly, a rich, unethical film-maker with a unflattering past. Her arch rival Slaid Warren happens to be there as well and knowing him, he would go to any extent to be on the top.

Back home Chris has an affair with the Victoria Secret model working with his ad agency (Bridget). I specifically liked the portrayal of Jenny as a bitter character when she has reasons to suspect Chris and couldn’t stop laughing at the despising thoughts she has. Chris moves out and after a short fling realizes what he had for Jenny, but it’s too late! Not only does she realize that she doesn’t love him but she may also have this growing interest on Slaid.

The book is realistic and interesting for a short – mindless read, but I did think the end could have been well drafted and better. In all a 3/5 on those days when you just need to get your hands on an easy read.

Do drop a note and let me know if you have read any books from this author and if you would make any recommendations


As an added note I am participating in the James Patterson Reading Challenge held by Yvonne from Socrates’ Book Reviews. The button is on my blog as well so join in and have some fun!

4 Responses

  1. I haven’t read anything by Deborah Blumenthal, thanks for the review I enjoy reading about potential (good) chick lit authors I know nothing about

  2. Hi Emily
    Thanks for stopping by. You should definitely give this one a chance .. 🙂 Happy Reading!

  3. Good luck with the challenge!

  4. […] What Men Want by Deborah Blumenthal […]

Leave a Reply

