Read-a-Thon : Final Update

Ok, so we are nearing the end of this day (actually it is the beginning of my day 7:15 AM) and I must say I am exhausted. I spend the first half of the event reading, the second half focussing on challenges and the third half reading (really slowly). I made very little progress in the last few hours but dint really sleep. Here is my last update!!

Title of book(s) read since last update:
– Reading “Honeymoon”
Number of books read since you started:
– 3 and on my 4th now
Pages read since last update:
– 84 from the last book and on the 194th in the current page = 278
Running total of pages read since you started:
– 1044
Amount of time spent reading since last update:
– 6 hours 25 minutes
Running total of time spent reading since you started: (keep track of this one to be eligible for a prize!)
– 15 hours and 56 minutes
Mini-challenges completed:
– Apart from the ones listed in the last update I also did:
* Reading Asanas
* Reading Sanctuary
* Most Hated
* End of Event Meme
Prize you’ve won:
– This is darn disappointing

Here is my entry for the “Most Hated Mini-Challenge”


Ironically I have quite a few characters that I normally hate and today the first one that comes to my mind is “Niks Erik Bjurman” from “The girl who played with fire”.
Bjurman is Salander’s legal guardian who sexually abused her long back and she takes her sweet revenge on him by tatooing him in an awkward spot. The character is portrayed as a person who wants to get back to her but isn’t very smart. He definitely feels trapped by Salander’s smartness (lets say!).
What annoyed me the most was that he din’t perform the role he was assigned too (as a legal guardian) nor did he have any successful or noteworthy throughout the book. Eventually he dies a miserable death. I would just term him as an “Incompetent Loser” sadly…

And here is my entry for the “End of Event Meme”


1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
It was the 21st hour and the Yoga challenge saved me.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
Definitely “The Girl who played with Fire” and if you are looking for a quick read then “What men want”

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
I thought this years read-a-thon was fantabulous but just as an after-thought maybe we could have veterans suggest / recommend books in various genres just before the big day to ease our preparation process.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
The cheer leading and the challenges. I thought the challenges were a class apart and covered everyone’s interests

5. How many books did you read?
3 and I am on my 4th book now

6. What were the names of the books you read?
– The girl who played with fire
– Plum Lovin’
– What men want
– Honeymoon

7. Which book did you enjoy most?
Undoubtedly it would be “The girl who played with fire”

8. Which did you enjoy least?
– Plum Lovin’ – I liked this book as well but on a comparative scale this would score the lowest today. The plus point however was that it was my shortest book.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
– I will be a cheerleader next year 🙂

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
– I am definitely in for the next Read-a-thon (a 100%). I may be a cheerleader just to give it a shot and I hope I remain as committed as this year’s cheerleaders.

Wheww!!! What a day it has been ….

4 Responses

  1. I like your idea of a veterans’ list of good reads. Great job on finishing the read-a-thon!

  2. Thanks for participating in the Most Hated challenge! He sounds awful. Way to go, powering through the readathon!

  3. The challenges were awesome even thought I didn’t do many of them. It sounds like you had some good choices!

  4. Looks like you had great fun.. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

