Read-a-Thon : Once upon a reading mini challenge

I have been reading but am making real slow progress. Still on book three but here is my entry for “Once Upon A Reading Mini Challenge”
Title of book(s) read since last update:
– Reading “What Men Want” by Deborah Blumenthal
Number of books read since you started:
– 2
Pages read since last update:
– 88
Running total of pages read since you started:
– 766
Amount of time spent reading since last update:
– 1 hours 55 minutes
Running total of time spent reading since you started: (keep track of this one to be eligible for a prize!)
– 9 hours and 31 minutes
Mini-challenges completed:
– Intro Meme : https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-begins/
– Feed Me Seymour : https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-update/
– Where in the world are you reading : https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-if-the-cover-fits-challenge/
– If the cover fits : https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-if-the-cover-fits-challenge/
– Mid event survey – https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-if-the-cover-fits-challenge/
– Once upon a reading – https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-once-upon-a-reading-mini-challenge/
– Title Teasers – https://readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-once-upon-a-reading-mini-challenge/
Prize you’ve won:
– Dont even ask 😦






She sat there staring at the dark sky, it looked beautiful. “Maybe everything looks beautiful after so many sleepless nights” she thought to herself. “No, No, Am I not supposed to be annoyed and irritated? Well, maybe I have spent too many hours being angry that the emotion no longer had any point of impact.”



It was 2 months back … she had walked in to catch him stark naked on a cold irish morning. She would have dived in the bed right there with him, but on that day he had company. She had taken the first flight from San Antonio a day earlier to surprise him and landed up being surprised. What made this situation tragedy even worse was that she was all set to be the bride just 2 months from then.



She threw her luggage at both of them and stormed out and never returned his calls. After she settled down she wrote down these words on her notepad How to get your revenge legally



It was exactly 2 months today and if it had not been for that fateful day she would have been the most beautiful bride. He used to live just blocks away and she thought of all the good times they shared in the midst of the sirens blaring from the fire trucks and emergency vehicles. She lived with him long enough to know where a short circuit could occur, that he had no insurance on his place and that he would be an illegal resident is this country if his paper work was unfortunately burned down.



Ah!! the smell of Sweet Revenge .. The smell of Everything Ravaged, Everything burned
As she made her bed she knew that today she could sleep while the dark sky from the Wild Fire continued to look beautiful.



Here is also my entry for the Title Teasers Mini Challenge. I spent a lot of time browsing through Shelley’s blog to figure some of these out but it was fun. Some of them have made it to my “MUST READ” list. I really am getting excited about these challenges 🙂




The Dark DIVINE
An IRISH COUNTRY Girl
The Lost SUMMER of LOUISA May ELCOTT
Necessary HEARTBREAK
She’s So DEAD to US
FIREWORKS Over Toccoa
BEAUTIFUL Dead
Scones & SENSIBILITY
All UNQUIET Things
Beautiful CREATURES
PERCHANCE to Dream
The DEAD – TOSSED Waves
I Kissed a ZOMBIE and I LIKED It
Prophecy of the SISTERS
Very VALENTINE
The Girl Who FELL from the SKY
Marriage and Other ACTS of CHARITY
Making TOAST
WHITE Cat
Letters to My FATHER : THE GIFTS



Ok, so I am terrible at creating new posts and choose to keep updating my latest ones over and over again. Bear with me! My entry for the “Get the heck out of here” Challenge is here as well.




What steps did you take to ensure you’d be able to read as much as possible today?
– hmm.. I came to know of the Read-a-Thon just yesterday but honestly, I am not a great planner so that worked fine for me. These are the things I did
* Rushed to the library and picked some cool non-boring books
* Completed most of my weekend chores yesterday evening
* Prepared my husband mentally 😉



Of those steps, which proved to be the most beneficial to your day?
* I think it would be the books collection and my husband’s patience. I couldn’t have survived this long with dull boring books or an irritated mood where my husband wants to catch a movie and I cannot budge.



Is there anything you might do differently next time?
* I will prepare well in advance and stack up with books after reading a cartload of reviews. I picked some books today that I wouldn’t read if it had to save me from dying 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Loved your answer! It sounds like you are doing a great job-you’ve read more then I have!

  2. This is a great story you did for the once upon a reading challenge! I like what you did with the challenge. I was so tired that night I fell asleep and did not get around to all the people who participated like I would normally do…. finally catching up now.

Leave a Reply

