• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Skinny Dip by Carl Hiaasen

The Book:

Joey Perrone’s romantic getaway with her husband for their second wedding anniversary turns out to be a much different experience than what she expects it to be. Chaz gets her drunk and throws her overboard. He of course does not expect her to come out alive and executes the rest of the plan for that night to make her death believable. Joey meanwhile hangs on to dear life on a bale of weed and is rescued by Mick who lives an isolated life in a private island. She tells Mick the whole truth but refuses to go to the cops.

What she has in mind is a plan for sweet revenge.The involvement of Mick, her brother and her friend Rose makes the upcoming revenge sweet, amusing and deserving. Do they succeed or does Chaz win one more time? What was his motive to kill her?

The View:

I’ll confess, the set of books I am reading in February are mostly recommendations by my librarian (well, the author’s) so there is very little I will be complaining about. “Skinny Dip” was an entertaining read but definitely not a quick one as I took my time reading it everyday for an entire week whenever I got the chance too. The other fact being; that once I got to the insights of the plot, I was not driven enough to finish it off in a single reading. The plot was definitely different and my only complaint is the motive. I could not understand why he would want to murder her over a suspicion about his job? Couldn’t he have clarified it?? I kept hoping till the end that there would be more to the motive.

The characters were fantastic. Each more quirky than the other.. Tool, Chaz and Ricca were all very entertaining. I particularly liked Tool intact with his weird behavior, unattractive physique and his annoying habits. Of course he won me over at the end with a sweet gesture to an ailing old woman. Ricca is a character to love. I liked her smarts much more than her unappealing grooming techniques ;) Though they were interesting, Joey and Mick definitely feel pale when compared to the other characters. I also enjoyed the detective and his snake-worries.

Rated a 4 on 5, this is not as fast paced as you would expect it to be.. but is nevertheless entertaining. Definitely give Carl Hiaasen a try, if you have not done so already.


kavyen

The Friday 56 – Week 64

Friday 56 This is another fun meme.

Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s voice.

My Friday 56 is from “The White Tiger” by Aravind Adiga.


They remain slaves because they can’t see what is beautiful in this world.

kavyen

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers