• Endometriosis – Survive It

  • Challenges and their Progress

    Immigrant Stories Challenge

    1 of 3 - 33% Completed


    Library Books Reading Challenge 2012

    1 of 12 - 8% Completed


  • Proud to be an Addict

    Reading Challenge Addict
  • Listed!!!

    Parajunkee Design

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

The Book:

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family.
But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven.

Source: Goodreads

The View:

I had to give Safe Haven a go.
Reason 1: I had not read any book by Sparks yet for this years challenge.
Reason 2: Sheila from Book Journeys’ review
Reason 3: The awesomest cover design
Reason 4: Seriously, Do I need reasons to read a Nicholas Sparks book?

“Safe Haven” is the story of a young married girl Katie who escapes from an abusive marriage after planning for her escape for years. Her husband Kevin is obsessed with her and remains so even after she leaves him prompting him to become a compulsive drinker with stronger darker mood swings. Katie takes some time but eventually settles in her new life. She meets store owner Alex and his two lovable kids. She also finds a true friend in her neighbor Jo. Just when life starts looking better her past catches up with her. The story of Safe Haven is nothing like what you would expect from Sparks. With just the right amount of romance, a bit of suspense and an obsessive husband – this book could not have been better.

I typically write about the lead characters in my review because I think they play a great role in making or breaking the story. But I do think that special mention has to be made about Kevin here. Her obsessive husband was an unforgettable character.. Yes, he was drunk most of the time, had delusions and could not keep obsessing about how she was laughing at him now that she was free.. but that is what made him unique. He was creepy and yet so real. I have met obsessive people like him and when I read the book I kept seeing the image of someone I know. Kevin struck a chord with me.

“Safe Haven” is Nicholas Spark’s finest work till date. It is not just the usual “man-meets-woman; chemistry-strikes; love-happens” story. The story was unexpected. The end had a twist that I least expected. Rated a 5 on 5 and just glad to kick off my Nicholas Sparks challenge with this one .

PS: Oh, How can I forget to mention the two letters that Alex’s ex-wife had written? In simple words, I had tears in my eyes.. So touching!


kavyen

4 Responses

  1. I am so glad you liked this one! It makes me even more excited to read it. I have it on my Nook and I plan on reading it for the Nicholas Sparks challenge….

  2. I’m downloading this on my NOOK based on your review. Nicholas Sparks never disappoints.

  3. I just finished reading “Safe Haven” by Nicholas Sparks about 3 days ago and so far, it’s has been the greatest book I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

